Home News Entertainment-News Sandra Ndebele,Daniel Lasker and Babongile Sikhonjwa Win Big At The Roil Bulawayo...

Sandra Ndebele,Daniel Lasker and Babongile Sikhonjwa Win Big At The Roil Bulawayo Arts Awards

We won outstanding online media award at the #RoilBAA Thank you for supporting us we really appreciate it guys #CulxureZw

Daniel Lasker in Blue Suit
Daniel Lasker in Blue Suit

Bulawayo – After weeks of anticipation, the Roil Bulawayo Arts Awards (RoilBAA) finally went live at the Large City Hall in Bulawayo last Saturday.

Babongile Sikhonjwa and Wife
Babongile Sikhonjwa and Wife

It was a big night for Sandra Ndebele,Babongile Sikhonjwa and Daniel Lasker who all walked home with 2 awards each. Sandra Ndebele took home the Female Artiste of the year and the music video of the year award for the song Lizwile featuring South African kwaito king Professor, Babongile took the Outstanding Radio Dj award and the Male Artiste of the year while Lasker shined with the Outstanding Film/TV Director and the Outstanding Film for his production the Walk.

In case you missed the awards, here is the full list of all the winners.

School Awards

Outstanding Actress (Schools) -Primrose Tshuma Empandeni High

Outstanding Actor (Schools) – Sailas Matsika Gifford High School

Outstanding Arts Educator – Nkosie Mlibazi Nketa High Schol

Outstanding Schools Effort – Empandeni Girls High School

Ishmael Muvingi In suit
Ishmael Muvingi In suit

Theatre Awards

Outstanding Director – Matesu Dube

Outstanding Theatre Actress – Lady Tshawe

Outstanding Theatre Actor – Ishmael Muvingi

Outstanding Theatre Production – Ihloka by Umkhathi Theatre Works

Literary Works

Outstanding Non fiction Work -Perspective on Campus Culture- Pofela Ndzozi

Nathaniel Z. Mpofu
Nathaniel Z. Mpofu

Outstanding Fiction Work – Inkless Quils- Nathaniel Z. Mpofu

Spoken Word

Outstanding Comedian – Mandla Da Comedian
Outstanding Poet – Asa

Dance Awards

Outstanding Contemporary Dance Ensemble – Ezimnyama Dance Ensemble

Outstanding Male Dancer -Julius Hlabangana (Ezimnyama Dance Ensemble)

Outstanding female Dancer -Praise Ncube (Khaya Arts)

Fashion and Lifestyle

Outstanding Fashion Designer – Nkululeko Ncube

Outstanding Male Model – Shadel Noble

Outstanding Female Model – Ashley Morgan

Film and TV Awards

Percy Soko
Percy Soko

Outstanding Television Production- DlalaNgamla by Rasqueity

Outstanding Film – The Walk By Daniel Lasker

Outstanding Film / TV Director – Daniel Lasker

Outstanding Film/TV Actor – Percy Soko- Jaiva Sbone

Outstanding Film/TV Actress – Precious Makhulumo


Media Awards

Outstanding Photographer – Mgcini Nyoni

Outstanding Arts Journalist Across Board – Sindiso Dube

Outstanding Online Media – Urban Culxure

Outstanding Mainstream Media – Skyz Metro FM

Visual Arts Awards

Visual Artist of the Year – Bhekitshe Ntshali

Music Awards

Outstanding Kwaito/House/Gqom Act – Skaiva

Outstanding Hip Hop Act – Asaph

Outstanding Alternative Act – Edith WeUtonga

Outstanding Gospel Act – Mai Mwamuka

Outstanding Imbube Act – Indosakusa The Morning Star

Outstanding Tshibilika/Rhumba – Clement Magwaza

Outstanding Female Artist  – Sandra Ndebele


Outstanding Male Artist  – Babongile Sikhonjwa


Outstanding Song of the Year – Bekezela by Bekezela


Outstanding Music Video – Sandra Ndebele Ft Professor Lizwile

Special Awards

Outstanding Ambassador Based In SA – Zinjaziyamluma (Musician)

Outstanding Ambassador Rest Of The World – Albert Nyathi (Poet)


Outstanding Newcomer – Maforty (Comedian)


Life Achievement Award – Black Umfolosi

Arts Supporter of the Year : United Refenaries

DJ Awards
DJ Liz
DJ Liz

Outstanding Club Dj – DJ Liz

Outstanding Radio DJ – Babongile Skhonjwa

Pictures By CNC Productions



Previous articleWho Shall Walk Away With The Title of Bulawayo’s Funniest Man Tonight
Next articleUrban Food Diary with Chef Zinzie : Flue remedy of the week Ginger Tea