Home Entertainment-News Jeys Marabini, Sandra Ndebele and Donel Mangena Get NAMA Nod

Jeys Marabini, Sandra Ndebele and Donel Mangena Get NAMA Nod

Jeys Marabini On stage Picture by Mgcini Nyoni
Jeys Marabini On stage Picture by Mgcini Nyoni

The National Arts Council of Zimbabwe (NACZ) has announced the final list of nominees for the 18th National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) edition to be held on March 23, 2019 at Harare International Conference Centre.

Bulawayo based musicians Jeys Marabini, Clement Magwaza and Sandra Ndebele were nominated in the music category.

Babongile Sikhonjwa who yesterday bid farewell to Bulawayo’s first commercial radio  station Skyz Metro also got a nomination in the Media Awards category under Outstanding Journalist on radio.

Some of the Bulawayo artiste that made the list include Maforty, Likhwa Ncube, Ronald Sigeca, Cadric Msongelwa, Qeqeshiwe Mtambo, Thulani Mbambo, Israel Israel, Nerville Sterling, The Voice UK 2018 runner up Donel Mangena who is based in the UK and Harare based duo of Vusa Blaqs and Andy Cutta who will both battle it out in Outstanding Music Video category.

Here is the full list of the nominees….


Outstanding Poet

Mercy Dhliwayo          –           aka Extreme Sanity

Likhwa Ncube                         –           aka  Likhwa okaNcube

Beloved Maridzanere   –           aka Beloved Poet

Special Mention

Tanaka Tshuma aka ECTS

Outstanding Comedian

Sharon Chideu                                     –           aka Magi

Dumisani H. Ndlovu    –           aka Maforty-forty

Learnmore Mwanyenyeka       –           aka Long John


Outstanding First Creative Published Book

Gather the Children         by    Batsirai Chigama       [Ntombekhaya Poetry]

Kwaisava Kuda Kwangu  by Victor Zivanayi and Telmore Mutiwazuka [Progressive Publishers]

Ndinobvunzawo Njira Inoende KwaMakasa   by  Takesure Taringana    [Dzekanyi Publications]

Outstanding Children’s Book

My Rights and Other Poems    by   Pentecost Mate     [Pentolacut Publishers]

The City Girl    by        Elisha July and Tendai K. Rudanda   [Pass-Point Publishers]

Outstanding Fiction

Itai                   by        Abraham  Makamera   [Pearl Press Media]

Mazai Emheni  by        Daniel Mutendi            [DanTs Media Publishing]


Outstanding Actor

Teddy Mangawa          in         Ukama

Ronald Sigeca              in         Zandezi

Cedric Msongelwa       in         Zandezi

Outstanding Actress

Heather Mlingo            in         Ukama

Chido Tenga                in         Deep Down Inside

Qeqeshiwe Mtambo     in         The Hostel

Outstanding Theatrical Production

Operation Restore  Regasi        by        Charles Munganasa

Ukama                                     by        Savanna Trust

1983: The Dark Years             by       Adrian Moyo

Outstanding Director

Lloyd  Nyikadzino       for       Zandezi

Everson Ndlovu           for       Deep Down Inside

Thulani Mbambo         for       The Hostel


Outstanding Female Dancer

Chaleen Chimara                     in         Iwe Neni Tinebasa

Vein N. Alfazema                    in         Black Sheep

Michelle Msopera                    in         Chasing Dreams

Outstanding Male Dancer

Sean Mambwere                      in         Know Him

Devante T. Sangaza                 in         My Journey Towards Success

Martin Chabuka                       in         100% Afro

Outstanding Dance Group

Real Flex Dance Group           directed by Martin Chabuka

Ji  Lin Dance Group                directed by Devante Tatenda Sangaza

Bolamba Performing Arts        directed by Mthabisi Dube

Outstanding Choreographer

Martin Chabuka                                       –       100% Afro

Macintosh Jerahuni & Chaleen Chimara  –      Iwe Neni Tinebasa

Sean Mambwere                                      –       Know Him


Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work

Light Over Dark                       by        Cosmas Shiridzinomwa

The Demolition                        by        John Kotze

The Patriarch (Revisited)         by        Percy Manyonga

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work

Zvirimudombo                         by        Shelton Mubayi

Protection                                by        Israel Israel

The Orchestic Night                 by        Givemore Mushaya

Outstanding Mix Media Work

Man From the Thirsty Land         by    Collins Chitaka

The Watchman and the Fence I    by   Greg Shaw

Whose Memory Whose Place      by    Neville Sterling

Outstanding Exhibition

Forever Neverland       by  Valerie Kabov

To My Unborn Child   by  Valerie Kabov

The Grotesque            by  Alan Sibanda & Talent Kapadza

Outstanding Actor

Patrick Muzondiwa      as  Tebogo in Kuchina The Genesis

Eddie Sandifolo           as  Clive in Bhachi

Stephen Chigorimbo    as  David in Ghost of Actions Past

Special Mention

Admire Kuzhangaira   –           in Death and Other Complications

Outstanding Actress

Nothando Nobengula   as  Ana in Daddy’s Present

Brooke Ann Franklin   as  Laura in Ghost of Actions Past

Tendaishe Chitima       as  Anesu in Cook Off

Outstanding Music Video

Tinomutenda Neyi       produced by    Andy Sobhuza        ft. Janet Manyowa

Dzamutsana                 produced by    Vusa Hlatshayo      ft.  Jah Prayzah

Tekere                         produced by      Andy Sobhuza       ft.  Tamy Moyo

Outstanding Screen Production (Television Series)

Muzita Rababa                         directed by  Shem Zemura

Kuchina The Genesis               directed by  Blessing Gatsi

Tunga                                      directed by  Willard Magombedze

Special Mention

Gaza                            directed by Ben Mahaka

Outstanding Screen Production – Short Film

Bhachi                                     directed by Shupai Kamunyaru

My Best Friend                        directed by Derby Bheta

Scourge                                    directed by Eddie Sandifolo

Outstanding Screen Production –  Full Length Film

Daddy’s Present                                   directed by Lucia Kanyongo

Death and Other Complications           directed by Shem Zemura

Cook Off                                             directed by Thomas Brickhill


Outstanding Journalist – Print

Kenneth Nyangani       –           Newsday

Fred Zindi                    –           Standard

Plot Mhako                  –           Herald

Outstanding Journalist – Television

Mhlomuli Ncube          –           ZTV

Patience Nyagato         –           ZTV

Outstanding Journalist – Radio

Tariro Mazvarirofa aka Mai Judah       –           Star FM

Babongile Sikhonjwa                           –           Sky Metro FM

Patience Musa & Nhire Mutimbanepasi  –        ZiFM

Outstanding Online Media


Zol Connect

Urban Culxure


Outstanding Female Musician

Thamsanqa Moyo aka Tamy

Janet Manyowa

Sandra Ndebele

Outstanding Male Musician

Stephen K. Mamhere aka Enzo Ishall

Enoch Munhenga aka ExQ

Braveman Chizvino aka Baba Harare

Outstanding Album

Grateful              by     Janet Manyowa

Ntunjambila        by     Majahawodwa Ndlovu aka Jeys Marabini

Tseu Tseu           by     Enock Munhenga aka ExQ

Dzinosvika Kure by     Alick Macheso

Outstanding Song

Sweetie            by        Nicodimus Mutize aka Jah Signal

Khal’uphethe               by        Clemence Ncube aka Magwaza

Kanjiva            by        Stephen K. Mamhere aka Enzo Ishal

Mebo               by        Obert Chari


Artist in the Diaspora

Donel Mangena

Danai J. Gurira

Luckson Chikutu

Outstanding Promoter

2 Kings Entertainment


Events Evolution